Contact Sync > Create Sync



With Contact Sync you can sync a group of contacts from one user to another user(s). This handy feature is perfect for keeping groups of users up to date on contacts they all need.  You also have the option of a Directory Sync, which will synchronize your Directory contacts (i.e. users from your domain) into a contact group.




With Contact Sync you can sync a group of contacts from one user to another user(s). This handy feature is perfect for keeping groups of users up to date on contacts they all need.

Contact Sync

 1. Click Add Contact Sync button in the top right hand corner. 



 2. Enter the following information for the sync job and click Next. 

Checking "Add to My Contacts" is optional. If you are creating this sync for users that are using Outlook Sync with G Suite will need to enable this option.


   

  


           
Take note that if you rename a source users email address and the Contact Sync fails in order to fix the issue you will need to delete that Contact Sync and create a new Contact Sync with that users new email address.

Example:
You create a Contact Sync using Admin@example.com as the source user and at a later date you rename this user to "Administrator@example.com" you will need to delete the contact sync that was created using the old email address for this user and then create a new Contact Sync using this users new email address or the Contact Sync will fail.




    3. Search or Browse for the destination users. Destination users can be added based on the following:
  • Email address
  • Group membership
  • Domain
  • gPanel role 
  • Organization Unit

       
   



         
Take note that if you rename a destination users email address and the Contact Sync fails for that user in order to fix the issue you will need to remove that users address from the contact sync in gPanel and then add them back using their new email address.

Example: 
A user "John.Smith@example.com" is added to a Contact Sync you just created and at a later date he is renamed "J.smith@example.com" you will need to edit the Contact Sync by removing "John.Smith@example.com" and adding "J.smith@example.com" or that user will no longer be included in the Contact Sync.




    4. Click Add All or select the users and click Add Selected then click Submit. 


Directory Sync

With gPanel, you have the ability to synchronize your Domain user profiles in your Directory to a contact group.

   

 
  1. Click Add Contact Sync button in the top right hand corner. 


 2. Switch the Contact Sync Type to Directory Contacts and complete the fields.

 


3. Select the domains that you wish to synchronize.

 


 
4. Select the targets of the Directory Sync, review the configuration settings, and hit Submit.


  




Field Definitions Glossary


 Contact Sync Name


 This is the name of your contact sync job. This name is what you will see listed in the Contact Sync Menu of gPanel. 

 Contact Sync Type : Personal  Contacts


 This will create a sync from a set of personal contacts from the source users account. 

 
 Contact Sync Type : Directory Contacts

 
 This will create a sync from the directory contacts from the source domain.

 Source User


 This is the user who's set of contacts will be synced to other users. This user will be able to add, delete, and edit contacts that are being synced through  their Google Contacts. 

 Source Contact Group


 This will be the group of contacts that will synced to  the other users. 
 Contact Groups are created in a user's personal contacts. It is important to note that Contact Groups are not the same as Google Groups. 
 More information on Contact Groups can be found here

 Target Group Name              
            
            
            

 
 This is the name of the Contact Group that the Target Users will see in their contacts. By default, it will be the same as the Source Contact Group. 
 Use this field to change what the Contact Group will be called for the Target users. 

 Add to My Contacts

 
 This will add the contacts to both the Target Contact Group and the Target Users' My Contacts. 

 Description 

 
 This is an optional field that will allow you to add notes or description of this sync. 

 Targets

 
 Your Target users are the users who be receiving the contacts from the sync. They will not be able to edit or change the contacts.