Limit User Visibility

[ Return to Administration Roles ] [ Return to User Roles ]


FAQ ]        [ Role Permissions Glossary ]

Limit User Visibility

The Limit User Visibility module is a way to limit visibility and management of Roles over other users/orgs.  For example, a University has a Student role that they wish to have admin privileges in gPanel.  However, they do not wish the Student role to have admin privileges over the Teacher role.  With this module, you can exclude the Teacher role from visibility by the Student role.  They will not be able to see nor modify users in the Teacher role.

Initial Steps


The role Editor defaults to Administrator Role Editor.  For editing User Role visibility, see the second picture.  For the role that you wish to Limit User Visibility,  select Edit Role.


If editing a User Role, select User Role Editor.  The rest of the steps are identical regardless of which role you edit.



Next, select Limit User Visibility from the tabs.

Uncheck the "This role can see all users in the domain" box.



Adding Users from Role

Be sure that you have followed the Initial Steps directions before proceeding.  Select which role you wish to add from the drop-down box.  The role selected will appear on the right.  If you wish to delete a selection, simply click the X button next to the role you wish to remove. 





Adding Users from Organizations


Be sure that you have followed the Initial Steps directions before proceeding.  Select which organization you wish to add from the drop-down box.  The organization selected will appear on the right.  If you wish to delete a selection, simply click the X button next to the organization you wish to remove. 

When finished,  Click Save!



Selecting Individual Users


Be sure that you have followed the Initial Steps directions before proceeding. To include individual users, select the drop-down box next to "Users to Include:"  The user selected will appear on the right.  If you wish to delete a selection, simply click the X button next to the user you wish to remove. 



When finished,  Click Save!




Excluding Individual Users


Be sure that you have followed the Initial Steps directions before proceeding. To exclude individual users, select the drop-down box next to "Users to Exclude:"  The user selected will appear on the right.  If you wish to delete a selection, simply click the X button next to the user you wish to remove. 


When finished,  Click Save!